Academic Board

The main function of the Academic Board is to contribute to academic planning in order to support the development and implementation of the Coleg's corporate strategy. It ensures representation and ownership by academics and students of the Coleg's work and processes. 

The Coleg’s Academic Board has up to 34 members, including the chair. The board comprises eight members nominated by Welsh higher education institutions, 13 members appointed by the Coleg, up to eight members representing students and three members representing the further education sector. The chair of the Coleg’s Academic Collaboration Committee is an ex-officio member.


The current membership of the Academic Board is as follows:


  • Dr Hefin Jones

Nominated by the institutions

  • Dr Gwenno Ffrancon (Swansea University)
  • Dr Elin Royles (Aberystwyth University)
  • Professor Enlli Thomas (Bangor University)
  • Sara Whittam (Cardiff University)
  • Sioned Roberts (Glyndŵr University)
  • Dr Lisa Lewis (University of South Wales)
  • Daniel Tiplady (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
  • Dr Catrin Haf Williams (University of Wales: Trinity Saint David)

Appointed by the Coleg

  • Professor Siwan Davies (Swansea University)
  • Professor Gwynedd Parry (Swansea University)
  • Professor Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones (Aberystwyth University)
  • Professor Eleri Pryse (Aberystwyth University)
  • Dr Prysor Williams (Bangor University)
  • Delyth Murphy (Bangor University)
  • Professor Mererid Hopwood (University of Wales: Trinity Saint David)
  • Dr Dylan Foster Evans (Cardiff University)
  • Professor Carwyn Jones (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
  • Dr Myfanwy Davies (Bangor University)
  • Llŷr Roberts (Cardiff Metropolitan University/University of South Wales)
  • Awen Iorwerth (Cardiff University)
  • Dr Euryn Roberts (Bangor University)

Further education sector representatives

  • Bryn Hughes Parry( Grŵp Llandrillo Menai)
  • Carys Swain (Bridgend College)

Postgraduate representative

  • Laura Beth Davies (Cardiff University)

South-east undergraduate representatives

  • Sion Wyn Lewys (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
  • Gwenllian Mair Jones (Cardiff University)

South-west undergraduate representatives

  • Tomos Watson (Swansea Unversity)
  • Dylan Davies (University of Wales: Trinity St David)

North and west undergraduate representatives

  • Lois Carwen Nash (Aberystwyth University)
  • Steffan Nicholas (Bangor University)

Welsh Language Officer, NUS Wales

  • Mirain Roberts


  • Huw Morris (chair, Academic Collaboration Committee)