10 February 2016

Inauguration of Three New Coleg Fellows

10 February 2016
The Annual Congregation of the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol will be held in Cardiff on 2 March 2016 where three Honorary Fellowships will be awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to Welsh-medium university education and the work of the Coleg generally.

The Coleg’s Board of Directors have decided that the three to be honoured this year are Ned Thomas, Geraint Talfan Davies and Rhian Huws Williams.

Ned Thomas is a prominent figure in the intellectual life of contemporary Wales. He has served as Director of the University of Wales Press, as a journalist and lecturer, in addition to being a very influential campaigner for the language. He was Director of the Mercator Institute for the Media, Languages and Culture at Aberystwyth University between 1988 and 1998 and is now its president. Recently, he led one of the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol’s projects – the Welsh Translations Fund, and is working on the Detholion project under the Coleg’s auspices to translate key works into Welsh.

Geraint Talfan Davies’s noted contribution to Welsh public life has stretched over many decades, and he has fulfilled a number of key posts in the fields of media and the arts. In 2010 he was appointed Chair of the Executive Board responsible for drawing up the constitution of the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol and realising the vision outline of Professor Robin William’s report. He served as one of the Coleg’s first directors, and laid the foundations for establishing the Coleg as an independent body.

Rhian Huws Williams was appointed Chief Executive of the Care Council for Wales in 2001, and since then has played a leading role in developing a sustainable, qualified and safe workforce for quality social care services in Wales. She was in the vanguard of developing that workforce into a bilingual one. She has advised the Coleg on identifying priorities for resource investment in health and social care, and is awarded the fellowship in recognition of her commitment to the Welsh language in higher education and in the field of adult education generally.

During the Congregation, there will be an opportunity also to recognise those students who have secured Coleg scholarships, and to applaud the success of Meinir Olwen Williams, winner of the Norah Isaac Award for the highest mark in assessment for the Coleg’s Welsh Language Skills Certificate last year.

In addition, the Eilir Hedd Morgan Memorial Prize will be presented to a scientist who has made a noted contribution to science teaching through the medium of Welsh. The winner this year is Professor Siwan Davies of Swansea University.

Dr Hefin Jones, Dean of the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol said:  “I look forward very much to honouring three new Fellows this year – all three have achieved so much in their respective fields, and have been most supportive of the Coleg’s work from the very beginning.”

The ceremony will be held at the Temple of Peace, Cathays Park in the capital, on 2 March at 6 p.m.

Inauguration of Three New Coleg Fellows