Dr John Davies was one of the leading historians of his generation and wrote A History of Wales amongst many other titles. He studied at University College Cardiff and Trinity College, Cambridge and was appointed lecturer at Swansea University. For 18 years he was the warden of Neuadd Pantycelyn, Aberystwyth and lectured - mainly through the medium of Welsh - in the History and Welsh History Department. In 2013 he was given an Honorary Fellowship at the Coleg's Annual Meeting in Aberystwyth.

The prize is awarded for the best Welsh language dissertation on Welsh History. Only dissertations submitted by those undergraduates who graduated from Welsh universities are considered. The prize is not restricted to work submitted within History and Welsh History departments, but the work must deal with some aspect of Welsh History. Individual universities are not restricted in terms of the number of entries, but only one entry is permitted per academic department.

Nominations are invited (in confidence) by e-mailing through the Coleg's univeristy branch officers, by noon on Friday 10 March 2023. The award is limited to students who are current, or were members of, the Coleg during the 2021/22 academic year.


2016: Catrin Howells, Cardiff University

2017: Ceiri Coker, Bangor University

2018: Elen Mererid Osmond Hughes, Aberystwyth University

2019: Michelle Rafferty, Prifysgol Aberystwyth

2020: Llinos Mai Anwyl Evans, Prifysgol Aberystwyth

2021: Anwen Rhiannon Jones, Prifysgol Caerdydd