The Meredydd Evans Memorial Prize (Gwobr Merêd) is awarded by the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol each year.

The award recognises an existing Coleg student's contribution to Welsh culture and life, within the wider university. Academic achievement is not the main focus of this award, but rather those other extra-curricular aspects which are fundamental to student life here at the Coleg.

Dr Meredydd Evans was a staunch advocate of the Coleg and President of Cyfeillion y Coleg (Friends of the Coleg). In 2012 he was given an Honorary Fellowship at the Coleg's inaugural Annual Meeting in Swansea.

The Coleg is indebted to Merêd's family for their support of this award, and is also grateful for the generous donation given by one of his acquaintances which has allowed the Coleg to establish Gwobr Merêd.


2015: Trystan Ap Owen, University of South Wales 

2016: Dan Rowbotham, University of Wales Trinity Saint David

2017: Lauren Evans, Swansea University

2018: Gwyn Aled Rennolff, Swansea University